Friday, September 11, 2015

Sean S. Cunningham To Recieve The New York City Horror Festival's Lifetime Achievement Award

The New York City Horror Festival has send us information that "Friday the 13th" producer Sean S. Cunningham will be receiving the festival's lifetime achievement award.  His production credits includes Wes Craven's "The Last House of the Left", "House" and the upcoming
"Friday the 13th: The Crystal Lake Chronicles".

The New York City Horror Festival runs from November 12th through the 15th at Times Scare at 669 8th Avenue in New York City.

For more information on the festival, you can visit the festival's official website at:

Press Release:

The 14th edition of the New York City Horror Film Festival celebrates the career of FRIDAY THE 13TH progenitor Sean S. Cunningham this November with the festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Responsible for one of the major characters of slasher cinema in the form of Jason Voorhees, Cunningham also joined with the late Wes Craven in their dark underground classic THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT. And of course Mr. Cunningham receives his prize on Friday Nov. 13!

Also producing other installments in the FRIDAY THE 13TH series including JASON GOES TO HELL: THE FINAL FRIDAY, JASON X, and FREDDY VS. JASON, Cunningham is also responsible for the HOUSE series, producing the original feature, its sequel HOUSE II: THE SECOND STORY, and HOUSE IV. Cunningham is now in production on FRIDAY THE 13TH: CRYSTAL LAKE CHRONICLES in the role of executive producer, slated for a 2016 debut.

The festival runs Nov. 12–15, 2015, at Times Scare, 669 8th Avenue., right on Times Square’s famed 42nd Street, aka “The Deuce.” Times Scare is enhanced with custom-built designs and elegant macabre d├ęcor including a state-of-the-art haunted house and skeletal bar. The venue’s history traces back to the crematorium that operated there in the roaring ’20s and the dark echoes of old Times Square’s bawdy past. The festival selection committee is currently reviewing this year’s submissions and will announce in October, along with the Opening Night film and the second award receipient. The schedule and ticket link go live in October at

The NYC Horror Film Festival was born in 2002 by filmmaker Michael J. Hein as a venue for newer independent horror filmmaking. After Michael’s passing in 2011, the festival created the Michael J. Hein Achievement Award to celebrate the hard work and perseverance of creators in the field. George Romero was the first recipient of the festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by other classic scaremeisters including Rob Zombie, Tobe Hooper, Roger Corman, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Frank Henenlotter, Robert Englund, Angus Scrimm, Stuart Gordon, and the beloved late Wes Craven.

No comments:

Post a Comment