Monday, October 13, 2014

Horrorpalooza 2014: Norman Reedus and Angus Scrimm to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2014 NYC Horror Film Festival

The 13th edition of the New York City Horror Film Festival celebrates two stalwarts of the genre with a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to 88-year-old Phantasm series star, “Tall Man” Angus Scrimm, and The Walking Dead star Norman Reedus receiving the Achievement in Acting Award for his strong dedication to the craft, currently creating new heights, and depths, as everyone’s favorite crossbow-wielding zombie-killer Daryl Dixon.

Award recipient Norman Reedus is internationally known for the role of Daryl Dixon in AMC’s immensely popular series, now entering its fifth season. Roles for Guillermo del Toro in MIMIC and BLADE 2 have led to the upcoming dark videogame SILENT HILL, co-directed by Hideo Kajima. Norman will also soon be seen in AIR with costar Djimon Hounsou, and John Hillcoat’s TRIPLE NINE featuring Aaron Paul, Kate Winslet, Woody Harrelson, and Chiwetel Ejiofor.

Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Angus Scrimm received instant worldwide recognition for his frightening performance as The Tall Man in Don Coscarelli’s classic PHANTASM. Returning to the series over the course of five films, Angus also lent his talent to many features including Jim Wynorski’s THE LOST EMPIRE and CHOPPING MALL, and Don Coscarelli’s JOHN DIES AT THE END with Paul Giamatti.

The festival runs Nov. 13–16, 2014, at Tribeca Cinemas, 54 Varick St., in Manhattan. 13 features and 32 shorts, 5 World and 13 New York Premieres, include FEAR CLINIC starring Robert Englund and Slipknot’s Corey Taylor; Bart Mastronardi and Alan Rowe Kelly’s TALES OF POE with Adrienne King and Caroline Williams; Dead By Dawn award-winner HOUSEBOUND, and Andres Torres’ BAG BOY LOVER BOY, and films from New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Britain, and Portugal.

The NYC Horror Film Festival was born in 2002 by filmmaker Michael J. Hein as a venue for newer independent horror filmmaking. After Michael’s passing in 2011, the festival created the Michael J. Hein Achievement Award to celebrate the hard work and perseverance of creators in the field. George Romero was the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by other classic scaremeisters including Tom Savini, Tobe Hooper, Roger Corman, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Frank Henenlotter, Robert Englund, Wes Craven, and Stuart Gordon.

Copies of Dustin McNeill’s exhaustive tome PHANTASM EXHUMED ($20), and Norman Reedus’ ode to his thankful fans, THANKS FOR ALL THE NICENESS ($75), will be available for purchase during the festival. Tickets are available at the door or at

No comments:

Post a Comment